Firefighters' "Ring of Fire" Tour

The Fire Brigades Union has announced a nationwide “Ring of Fire” tour of the UK to highlight the devastating impact the government’s austerity agenda is having on the fire and rescue service.

Check for an event near you!

The 20 date tour, which kicks off in Liverpool on 9 September, will promote the union’s recently published report Sounding the alarm: the future of the fire and rescue service which has found funding for the service has been cut by more than 20% during this parliament, that 5000 frontline firefighter jobs have been cut and 999 emergency response times have increased significantly.

Matt Wrack, FBU general secretary, said: “Firefighters want to warn the public about the threat to the UK fire and rescue service from central government cut backs.

“Firefighters want to continue doing a great job but their profession is being undermined by deep cuts to the service.

“I urge the public to come to their local event and talk to firefighters about the threat to their profession.”

Along the tour, firefighters will be joined by special guests including local politicians, singers and comedians to make the event a special day out for all the family.

Entry to the event is free and each event will kick off from midday.

The tour dates are below:

Tuesday 9 September – Liverpool – Outside BT Convention Centre, Kings Dock, Liverpool, L3 4FP

Thursday 11 September – Glasgow – St Enochs Square, Glasgow, G1 4DH

Friday 12 September – Sunderland – Market Square, Sunderland, SR1 3LH

Saturday 13 September – Redcar  – King Edward Memorial Clock, Redcar High Street, Redcar

Monday 15 September – York – St Sampsons Square, York, YO1 8RN

Tuesday 16 September – Leeds – Briggate, Leeds, L1 6BG

Thursday 18 September – Leicester – Humberstone Gate, Leicester, LE1 1WB

Friday 19 September – Birmingham –  Centenary Square, Broad Street, Birmingham, B1 2EP

Saturday 20 September – Hereford – Old Market, Newmarket street, Hereford, HR 4 9HR

Monday 22 September – Manchester – Barbirolli Square, Manchester, M2 3AB

Tuesday 23 September – Aylesbury – Market Square, HP20 1TW

Wednesday 24 September – Watford TBC

Thursday 25 September – Great Yarmouth – Market Place, Great Yarmouth, NR30 1LX

Friday 26 September – London – Riverside Grass, South Bank, London

Saturday 27 September – Brighton – New Road, Brighton, BR1

Tuesday 30 September – Portsmouth – Guildhall, Portsmouth, PO1 2AB

Wednesday 1 October – Plymouth – Armada Way, off Royal Parade, Plymouth, PL1 2HJ

Thursday 2 October – Cardiff – Roald Dahl Plass, Oval Basin, Cardiff Bay, CF10 6AN

Friday 3 October – Bristol – Castle Park, Broadweir, Bristol

You can follow the FBU Ring of Fire tour twitter page here.

FBU Report: Sounding the Alarm: Short Presentation

FBU Report: Sounding the Alarm: Full Report

 

From the Fire Brigade Union Website: http://www.fbu.org.uk/news/2014/09/firefighters-union-announce-ring-fire-uk-tour/

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Donate Volunteer

Connect

Join Mailing List